Panch Phoran ~ Magic of 5 Spices

In many of the recipes in this blog, we have used “Panch Phoron” which literally means 5 spices.All of the spices in panch phoran are seeds. Typically, panch phoran consists of fenugreek (methi) seed, nigella ( kalonji)  seed, cumin (zeera) seed, black mustard (rai) seed and fennel (sauf)  seed.

You can get a ready mix of panch phoron in most Indian spice shops or you can buy the different ingredients and mix them together in equal quantities and keep it ready of use.